Overseas Schools Project

In partnership with the U.S. Department of State’s Office of Overseas Schools.

The Overseas Schools Project (OSP) is a grant-based program that College Board manages in partnership with the U.S. Department of State’s Office of Overseas Schools (OOS). College Board has worked closely with OOS for several decades to ensure that the dependents of U.S. citizens serving abroad understand the breadth of U.S. higher education opportunities, as well as how to apply to American universities. 

At each post where there is an embassy or consulate, there is a designated "assisted school" that receives grant assistance and support from the post and OOS. While the OSP program focuses mainly on these schools, the OSP program also provides opportunities for other schools abroad that U.S. government dependents attend and performs functions for local embassies and consulates. Through the OSP grant, College Board organizes opportunities for these schools and facilitates visits from key admissions officers from leading U.S. universities to discuss applying to, funding, and matriculating into the American higher education system.

New York University (NYU) hosts the College Board Summer Institute for International Counselors at varying times at its three global campuses: New York, Shanghai, and Abu Dhabi, plus one virtual event. These events bring counselors from overseas schools together with U.S. college and university admissions officials for a 3.5 days of networking and learning, with an emphasis on the most current information about U.S. higher education.

The Office of Overseas Schools provides financial assistance on a limited basis for counselors from U.S. State Department-assisted schools to attend the Summer Institute.

Overseas Schools Project Advisory Committee

Working with the regional education officers in the Office of Overseas Schools, and with the support of the team at the College Board, the Overseas Schools Project maintains a committee of leaders in the field of U.S. higher education admissions. The committee members include:

  • Shawn Abbott, Vice President for Enrollment Management, Dean of Admissions, Tulane University
  • Adele C. Brumfield, Vice Provost for Enrollment Management, University of Michigan
  • Ellen Chow, Dean of Undergraduate Admissions, Johns Hopkins University
  • Shawn Felton, Executive Director, Undergraduate Admissions, Cornell University
  • William Douglas Hartog, Senior Associate Dean, Office of Admission, University of Virginia
  • Elisabeth O’Connell, Senior Associate Dean, International Admissions, Office of Undergraduate Admissions, University of Pennsylvania





Overseas Schools Project (OSP) Video Series

This series of videos offers insights into U.S. higher education and the college planning process for students, families. School counselors and educators will also find this advice helpful.